Alex and Dora in San Francisco

Welcome to Alex Cozzi's Home Page!

Hi, I'm Alex Cozzi.

I live in California, in sunny Sunnyvale with my wife, Dora, and our sons Max and Adrian.

You can read more about me in my blog or at my homepage or you can have a look at my photo gallery.

I was born in Italy and I lived in the little village of Provaglio d'Iseo in Franciacorta.

Provaglio lies in the north part of Italy, near a nice lake among the first peaks of the Alps. The main activity there is wine production (the best champagne in Italy). When I was a kid I had a lot of fun hunting snakes, lizards and frogs. My mother had considerable less fun with them. Later, noticing that was rather difficult to make a living out of that, I decided to go to the university and to study information science (well, computer science is such an awful name for a respectable scientific subject!) at the "Università degli Studi di Milano", from 1989 to 1994.

From August 1993 to July 1994 I was writing my thesis (and having fun with the robots) at theIRST (Istituto per la Ricerca Scientifica e Tecnologica) in Trento. On the 4th of July 1994 I defended my thesis and got my Master Degree.

From October, 1st 1994 I was a Ph.D. student at the Neurophysiology Dept. of the Ruhr-Universität of Bochum, Germany.

On December, 16th 1998 I defended my Ph.D. thesis at the department of Computer Science of the University of Dortmund. Now I'm Ph.D. in computer science.

From May, 10th, 1999 until May 11th 2007 I worked for IBM at the IBM Almaden Research Center in San Jose, California.

Since May 2007 I work as a Research Scientist for Yahoo!

Email: alexcozzi (at) gmail (dot) com

Personal Information

My Curriculum Vitae.

Here is a link to my wife's home page.

Our Adventures in USA. Travelogues and pictures


Publications

You can find a list of my publications and links to papers on-line here

Friends on line

Old Projects

Valid XHTML + RDFa